Customer reviews

10 Jun 2020

We decided to swap our dining room and kitchen over (opposite sides of the house) as two projects. The design for the new kitchen involved an extension to the old dining room, propping up a three storey chimney, bifold doors overlooking the garden etc. We looked at a number of builders and selected K Design & Build. Immediately, we were pleased that we had done so as Karl identified that the approach taken by the structural engineer with regards to a huge steel to prop up the chimney and existing side wall of the house wasn't appropriate. Design improvements sorted, the build progressed broadly in accordance with Karl's schedule, with regular communication with us. An excellent groundsman, professional carpenter and others formed part of the core team and all subcontractors were high quality. Other than in relation to a small number of additions to the job, requested by us, the cost of the build was as quoted and stage payments invoiced in line with the progress of the job. Great! A few months later, we moved on to the second job and asked Karl to undertake it. Suspended ceiling, completely new electrics, returning a chimney back to its original purpose, reinstalling the dining room fireplace into the new room etc. Again, a seamless experience and nice to see the guys again. Definitely recommended! - D B

Wokingham

10 Feb 2020

Karl and his team installed a steal beam for us just before Christmas work was carried out at the agreed time to a high standard we will definitely be using them again for future work we have planned for this year. - K S

Berkshire

29 Jan 2020

K Design and Build worked excellently with our very narrow timeframe to turn around a retail unit into a beautiful health clinic in the space of 2 weeks. Communication was fantastic and despite running into a few unexpected issues, they were easily resolved. All workers involved worked to very high standards and worked late into the evenings in order to help us open on time and they covered all building works, rooms, doors, skirtings, painting throughout and even helped to build a beautiful, bespoke reception desk with tile cladding, a marble top and soft close drawers. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending their services and would happily consider using them again for any future projects. It was a pleasure working with Karl from start to finish, he has a very personable and great attitude towards his craft and that really shines through in the finished piece! - P B

Burgess Hill

11 Feb 2019

Karl and his team did a Two storey Front Extension and a Single storey Rear Extension with Bi Fold doors and Lantern. I would Recommend K Design to anyone looking to have building work done. Karl is absolutely Fantastic, he is extremely thorough and very hard working. His team are an absolute pleasure, everyone was so friendly, trustworthy and were very clean and tidy in their work. The building work was absolutely fantastic and completely changed our house, we are so pleased with the outcome of the work done by K Design. Thank you so much for the hard work and the outstanding job. If we are looking for more building work we will definitely use you again. - C S

Berkshire

07 Feb 2019

Karl and his team built a first floor extension over our integral garage including new bathrooms, extended bedrooms and dressing room, complete renewal of all windows, internal doors, wiring and decorating. The standard of the build and fittings was first class and we received many compliments from friends and family on the outcome. Karl and his team were a pleasure to work with from the first time we met Karl to discuss the project through to completion (and fixing a few minor things after completion). During the build, they always left our property in a tidy and liveable state throughout the process. The project came in on budget and accommodated several changes that we made along the way. As always with a project of this size, there a few surprises on the way, but nothing that Karl didn’t care of to our satisfaction. I judge people by how they react when there is a problem to solve and Karl’s team came through. I would have no hesitation to use Karl again and am happy to recommend him and the team. - P D

Finchanpstead

07 Feb 2019

Karl is a star and I would never go anywhere else for multi-trade building works. He quoted for a job at our house that included; initially taking structural engineers advice, taking down a wall, closing up archways, fitting new steel joists as structural support, internal and external brickwork, removing a wood floor and floor tiles, dry lining, plastering, fitting extensive new ceramic floor tiling, plumbing, fitting enlarged external patio doors, rewiring underfloor heating, fitting new ceiling lights, associated electrical works, comprehensive decorating and making good. Not only was his quote highly competitive, but the quality of workmanship was exemplary. Time to complete was literally second to none after a special request from us to finish everything in time for a family Christmas. To top it off, Karl is a top bloke and a pleasure to work with. I have always recommended him to friends or family, and will continue to do so. A rare find - top rate. - J I

Windsor and Maidenhead

30 Jan 2019

We would like to thank the team at K Design and Build for their professionalism whilst working in our family home. We had an extensive amount of work carried out whilst still living at the property. The team were hard working to complete tasks on time, they were respectful of our busy family lives and were un-intrusive whilst in our house. They were clean, tidy and polite. The work was completed within schedule and budget and any changes or development was discussed and amended to suit our needs as the project evolved. We are very happy with the standard of work and have had no issues, only compliments since the build was completed! - S S

Crowthorne

30 Jan 2019

Karl and his team carried out some internal refurbishments at my property, which including replacement of all internal doors. The job was done to a very high standard and within the expected timeframe. Karl and his team where polite and punctual and I would defiantly recommend their services to anyone looking for building work to be done. - D H

Wokingham

28 Jan 2019

We employed K Design and Build to undertake a two storey side and front extension and a single storey rear extension which included a large kitchen/diner design. Throughout the build, Karl’s standard of work and attention to detail was exemplary. We gave Karl a strict immovable deadline for our build and despite very challenging weather conditions at times Karl and his team worked tirelessly to ensure we were able to move into our dream home on time. Karl provided superb customer service throughout the build providing excellent advice on the overall design of the project and managing our stress levels through inevitable challenges that arose during the 6 month build. Most impressively this level of customer service has continued since the completion of the build. Karl has completed a 6 month review of the build with a 12 month final check arranged. Karl has also always responded quickly and positively with any questions we have had since completion. We would therefore highly recommend K Design and Build for any large scale build projects whose professional, knowledgeable and outstanding quality of workmanship is second to none. - K D

Wokingham

17 Dec 2018

Karl did a loft conversion for us creating 4 new bedrooms and 2 bathrooms upstairs. Karl also updated our downstairs putting new underfloor heating and tiling throughout. The outside of the house was rendered and new porch built. We are delighted with the work done an would recommend without hesitation. The project was completed on time and on budget. - Terry

Wokingham