What are the Master Builder Awards?

2023 MBAs, Overall winner, Vantage & Co Group Limited, Central 1 2000px
Project by Vantage & Co Group Limited, 2023 Master Builder of the Year

The Master Builder Awards celebrate high-quality craftsmanship, exceptional customer service and building excellence delivered by Master Builders across the UK. 

The awards help to recognise the significant contribution that small and medium-sized construction companies make to the UK construction industry.

Our latest awards took place in September 2023. View the winners and their fabulous projects on these awards pages. 

The next Master Builder Awards will take place in 2025 with nominations expected to open in autumn 2024. To find out more please email [email protected]

2023 Master Builder of the Year Award winner

Vantage & Co Group Limited won the coveted Master Builder of the Year Award for this incredible resurrection of a Georgian villa standing in Birmingham’s historic Jewellery Quarter. As the overall national award winner, Vantage & Co Group Limited also picked up keys to a brand new Isuzu Pick Up truck thanks to headline sponsor Isuzu UK.

Thank you to our sponsors

Thanks to Isuzu UK, one lucky winner will drive away in a new Isuzu Pick Up truck worth more than £37,000.

Frequently Asked Questions 

What is the deadline for nominations?

Nomination are now closed. Nominations must have been submitted online through the FMB website by Friday 20 January 2023.

Do I need permission from a client / individual to enter the awards?

Yes. Members will need to secure permission from their clients to enter a project into the project categories as photos and information about the project may be publicised on the FMB website, social media channels and in the media. Please read the entry Terms and Conditions for more information.

If you would like to nominate a Master Builder for Heavenly Builder of the Year, or an apprentice for Apprentice of the Year, we encourage you to speak to the individual first. However, if you would like to submit a nomination as a surprise you may do so.

If you are the client of the project please state this clearly in your nomination. For example if you submit your own companies offices. 

How much does it cost to enter the awards?

Unlike most award schemes, the Master Builder Awards are free to enter, but you must be a Master Builder company (or employed by a Master Builder company) to be eligible to participate. You must be a member at the time the nomination is submitted or are applying for membership and will have become a member before 11 January 2023. If you're not a member, you can start your application to become a Master Builder today to take part in the next Master Builder Awards.

Will I receive feedback on my nomination?

Due to the volume of entries received, it is not possible to provide feedback on individual nominations.

Who judges the Master Builder Awards?

The nominations are judged by independent judging panels at both a local and national level.

The first round of judging takes place at a local level to choose the category winners in each region and devolved nation. These winners are then shortlisted for the national awards, where a separate independent national judging panel will review the entries and select the winners.

When will winners be announced and what do they receive?

Winners across the regions and devolved nations were announced at local award ceremonies that took place throughout Spring 2023. National winners were announced at a national ceremony hosted by Nick Knowles on 22 September 2023 at Grosvenor House in London. 

All winners across the regions and devolved nations receive a trophy and regional winner logo to display. All national winners receive a trophy and a national winner logo to display.

The overall national Master Builder of the Year award winner also received a brand new Isuzu Pick Up truck worth more than £37,000. The national winner of the Apprentice Award will receive a cheque for £500.

Who do I contact for support?

If you have any questions about the Master Builder Awards, please email [email protected].